«Silent City»

Performative mocumentary research

«Silent City» is an app developed by specialists of the Institute of acoustic anomalies research for the study of objects AAO-, AAN- and AAZ-types.

If you are reading this text, it means that your access level allows you to join the research group. You need to download the app to your mobile device and visit AAO-type objects at the following addresses:

  • 41 Chernaya Rechka nab. (the object is located on the bridge)
  • Pryazhka river, Berdov Bridge
  • 26 Nakhimov street (the object is located on the Central pier of the Galernaya Harbor)

Google Play App Store

After studying the psychoacoustic properties of AAO-type objects, you must submit a report (e-mail of the research group department: silentcity@waterfront.tools), the authors of selected reports will have temporary access to the study of AAN objects during the second phase of the study.

The following is the introduction of the dissertation on the topic "A comprehensive study of the origin, perception and psychological impact of acoustic anomalies of urban type on a person" by senior researcher Fluctus K. B.


Fluctus K. B.

Head lab. experimental nonlinear acoustics NIIAA

INTRODUCTION OF THE DISSERTATION (PART OF THE ABSTRACT) on the topic "Comprehensive study of the origin, perception and psychological impact of acoustic anomalies of the urban type on humans"

Relevance of the topic

Sound anomalies were first described in detail at the end of the 20th century. Most of them are formed by low-frequency waves of natural origin. It should be noted that in some cases the question of the origin of the sound anomaly remains open. At the beginning of the 21st century, the rapidly changing urban environment began to attract scientists' interest. In 2004, the theory of acoustic phenomena in the urban landscape was formed, but for a long time researchers could not find suitable experimental conditions for isolating anomalies from the vast array of data obtained, which was probably due to the noise-vibrating interfering effect of background signals from the city environment. The turning point came thanks to the emergence of a unique situation of Great Silence in 2020 (quarantine measures to combat the new coronavirus infection SARS CoV-2, ed.). A group of researchers from the Research Institute of Acoustic Anomalies (FSBSI RIAA) managed to establish the localization of several unique sound anomalies within the St. Petersburg (Russian Federation), conduct a number of studies of their nature and origin, and assess their impact on humans.

Research methods

During the Great Silence, the determination of natural frequencies and vibration waveform (acoustic modes) of sound phenomena and their registration, did not require the use of supersensitive sound recording devices. However, as quarantine measures were canceled, more and more dynamic noise-generating sources began to appear in the urban environment. This required the development of additional structural and layout components of noise suppression, complementing the existing equipment, as well as the use of devices with the ability to detect spectral components in a wider frequency range. For the experiment, a group of 32 volunteers was formed, which interacted with sound phenomena. Registration of stimulation of various hypothalamic centers was carried out, as well as an assessment of the involvement of neurons in the dorsal hippocampus in emotional-motivational excitation.

Practical use

In the course of work, software was developed and patented. It allows visualizing the received sound signal. Currently, RIAA employees are adapting this software into a format available to users of mobile devices, which will help to collect and systematize a sufficient array of data for a more detailed understanding of the emotional and psychological impact of acoustic anomalies on a person.

Conclusions

Urban acoustic anomalies, which until recently remained outside the field of vision of scientists, were recorded in St. Petersburg in 2020. A positive correlation was established between the interaction of a person with an acoustic anomaly and the formation of emotional-motivational arousal. Empirical evidence has been obtained that the musical-perceptual process, in which a person in contact with acoustic anomalies is involved, causes the optimization of mental state. Since the semantics of urban-type acoustic anomalies is currently a controversial issue, additional research will be required to clarify a number of issues.


Credits:

  • Conceptmaker — Dmitry Otyakovsky
  • AR artist — Yegor Pshenichny
  • Composer — Rustam Sagdiev

«Тихий город»

«Тихий город» — это приложение, разработанное специалистами научно-исследовательского института акустических аномалий для изучения объектов типа ААО, ААН и ААЗ. Если вы читаете этот текст, значит ваш уровень доступа позволяет присоединиться к исследовательской группе. Вам необходимо скачать приложение на своё мобильное устройство и посетить объекты типа ААО по адресам:

  • Наб. Черной речки, 41 (объект располагается на мосту)
  • Наб. реки Пряжки, Бердов пешеходный мост
  • Ул. Нахимова, 26 (объект располагается на центральном пирсе Галерной гавани)

Google Play App Store

После изучения психоакустических свойств объектов типа ААО необходимо предоставить отчёт в свободной форме (электропочта отдела исследовательских групп: silentcity@waterfront.tools), авторы избранных отчётов получат временный доступ к изучению объектов типа ААН в даты второй фазы исследования.

Ниже приводится введение диссертации (часть автореферата) на тему «Комплексное исследование происхождения, восприятия и психологического воздействия акустических аномалий урбанистического типа на человека» старшего научного сотрудника НИИАА Флуктус К. Б.


Флуктус К. Б.
зав. лаб. экспериментальной нелинейной акустики НИИАА

Введение диссертации на тему «Комплексное исследование происхождения, восприятия и психологического воздействия акустических аномалий урбанистического типа на человека»

Актуальность темы

Звуковые аномалии были впервые подробно описаны в конце XX столетия. Большая часть из них сформирована низкочастотными волнами природного генезиса. Следует отметить, что в ряде случаев вопрос происхождения звуковой аномалии остаётся открытым. В начале XXI века интерес учёных начала привлекать быстро изменяющаяся городская среда. В 2004-м году была сформирована теория акустических феноменов в условиях урбанистического ландшафта, однако долгое время исследователям не удавалось подобрать подходящие условия эксперимента для вычленения аномалий из обширного массива получаемых данных, что вероятно было связано с шумовиброактивным интерферирующим воздействием фоновых сигналов городской среды. Переломный момент наступил благодаря возникновению уникальной ситуации Большой Тишины в 2020-м году (карантинные мероприятия по борьбе с новой коронавирусной инфекцией SARS CoV-2, прим. ред.) Группе исследователей из научно-исследовательского института акустических аномалий (ФГБНУ НИИАА) удалось установить локализацию нескольких уникальных звуковых аномалий в черте города Санкт-Петербург, провести ряд исследований их природы и происхождения, а также оценить их воздействие на человека.

Методы исследования

В период Большой Тишины определение собственных частот и форм колебаний (акустических мод) звуковых феноменов, а также их регистрация не требовали использования сверхчувствительных звукорегистрирующих приборов. Однако по мере отмены карантинных мероприятий, в городской среде стало появляться всё больше шумогенерирующих динамических источников. Это потребовало разработки дополнительных конструктивно-компоновочных составных элементов шумоглушения, дополняющих имеющееся оборудование, а также использования приборов с возможностью выявления спектральных составляющих в более широком диапазоне частот. Для эксперимента была сформирована группа добровольцев из 32 человек, которая взаимодействовала со звуковыми феноменами. Проводилась регистрация стимуляции разных гипоталамических центров, а также оценка вовлечения нейронов дорсального гиппокампа в эмоционально-мотивационное возбуждение.

Практическое применение

В ходе работы было разработано и запатентовано программное обеспечение, позволяющее визуализировать получаемый звуковой сигнал. В настоящее время сотрудниками НИИАА проводится адаптация данного ПО в формат, доступный пользователям мобильных устройств, что поможет собрать и систематизировать достаточный массив данных для более подробного понимания эмоционально-психологического воздействия акустических аномалий на человека.

Выводы

Акустические аномалии урбанистического типа, остававшиеся до недавнего времени вне поля зрения учёных были зафиксированы в Санкт-Петербурге в 2020 году. Была установлена положительная корреляционная связь между взаимодействием человека с акустической аномалией и формированием эмоционально-мотивационного возбуждения. Получены эмпирические доказательства того, что музыкально-перцептивный процесс, в который вовлекается контактирующий с акустическими аномалиями человек, вызывает оптимизацию его психического состояния. Поскольку семантика звуковых аномалий урбанистического типа в настоящее время остаётся дискуссионным вопросом, для уточнения ряда вопросов потребуются дополнительные исследования.


Над проектом работают:

  • Концептмейкер — Дмитрий Отяковский
  • AR художник — Егор Пшеничный
  • Композитор — Рустам Сагдиев