Waterfront Open Call for Art Projects

15 July 2020

The Street Art Research Institute and the Danish Cultural Institute in Saint Petersburg are happy to announce an open call for art projects.

The goal of the project is to attract (through urban-oriented art practices and public art ) the active attention of citizens to the problem of using embankments and the development of urban coastal areas as modern public spaces.

Open Call terms: June 16 July 15, 2020 (acceptance of applications ends at 15.07.2020 at 23: 59 Moscow time).

Implementation: August 2020 — July 2021 (depends on the epidemiological situation).

Who can apply: individual authors and / or creative groups working with different forms of artistic practices*.

Participants'geography: North-Western region of the Russian Federation (Saint Petersburg, Leningrad, Arkhangelsk, Murmansk regions, Republic of Karelia). We also welcome representatives of the Nordic countries (Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland and Sweden).

NB! Applications from other regions can be accepted if at least one of the team members is representative of the North-West of the Russian Federation or a Northern Country.

Implementation: at one of the locations by the water side in St. Petersburg. We also accept online projects that can later be implemented offline, i.e. in the urban space.

Production budget: up to 80 thousand Rubles per project.

The winners will be invited to participate in a group study trip of the Waterfront project to Finland, Sweden and Estonia (the travel period will be specified later).

Selection process:

the organizers expect to select from three to five projects for implementation; the selection will be made by the organizing Committee, consisting of the Waterfront project team, which includes experts in the field of urbanism, architecture, art history, sociology, ecology, art management, consultants for the development of public spaces, as well as of active participants in the previous stages of the project.

What kind of projects do we expect? In order to facilitate the tasks of applicants, we offer several specific areas (nominations), so the applicants can choose one or more of them:

1. Universal design solution (replicable and scalable) that solves a specific task: to mark the location of a city either lost or existing boat station or recreation areas near the water. The information pointer method must be original in terms of idea and design; it must be visible, identifiable, vandal-resistant, and informative.

Context:

The modern city grows out of history and its traditions, as the city is a few generations of residents who have lived a whole life and remember the realities of their time, which they treat as a value. Moreover, young people, as a rule, do not know much about the everyday history and practice of city life in the 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, and even in the 70s and 80s. Meanwhile, in this Soviet time, the municipality and city services were similarly puzzled by the organization of leisure and recreation places for citizens, where they could relax after working days among the wildlife, without going far beyond the city limits. Sports and outdoor activities were also among the priorities. One of the opportunities for a pleasant and useful weekend in the maritime city were, of course, the water walks. For this purpose, boat stations were created on rivers, channels and lakes with a fleet of oar boats and the possibility of their hourly rental. This tradition was seriously damaged in the post-Soviet period. That is why the organizers chose former and currently operating boat stations as possible locations for public art objects. Temporary objects can become new points of attraction for both local residents and tourists.

2. Local art intervention "in the area" in the format of "improvising", tied to a specific place and solving a specific problem of the selected space (at the discretion of the author).

Context:

Modern street art is puzzled not only by the author's personal self-expression, but also by social projects that analyze disadvantages and inconveniences for residents of the neighborhood, developing necessary and precise interventions that allow to quickly solve the problem or at least identify it and move towards its possible solution with the help of local active residents or engineering district services. This is what we call "improvising".

3. Art projects that initiate social communication, that is, involve citizens in cooperation and dialogue with each other in order to "inhabit" public spaces near the water.

Context:

Residents of St. Petersburg are usually described as people who are not particularly open and do not tend to communicate with strangers. However, only a friendly local community is able to take responsibility to promptly raise and solve the problems of the neighborhood. In order to organize and launch such an activity, there are various social mechanisms. We offer to develop and test them in practice.


A list of possible locations for which Waterfront conducted research and for which it is possible to obtain (the organizers will provide on request) an overview of analytical information:

  • Chernaya Rechka River ( between the Chernorechenskiy bridge and Starobelskaya street);

  • Zhdanovka River (near the SKA stadium on Zhdanovskaya embankment, 2; opposite to Petrovsky Park);

  • Smolenka River (near the cemetery "Island of Decembrists", at the beginning of Kim Avenue)

  • Primorsky Victory Park

  • Yuzhno-Primorskiy Park

  • Sosnovka Park

  • Pryazhka River (there is no specific place on the river) - there is a study by the Waterfront team

  • Embankment in the Southwest of the city (the so-called Stone beach) - there is a study of the Waterfront team

  • Galernaya Harbour - there is a study by the Waterfront team

    Participants can choose the location by their own.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

The project format can be anything that can be implemented in an open urban space (on a temporary basis, if it is an object), taking into account the conditions and challenges that we have faced in 2019 / 2020:

  • pandemic
  • the difficulty of negotiation of stationary art objects in an urban environment
  • search for new forms of communication in the period of isolation

The application must contain:

  • applicant's profile / cv
  • description of the idea / concept
  • visualization / sketch (if it is an object)
  • short script (if it is a performative art)
  • location (if it means a specific place in the city)
  • detailed estimates and technical rider

File format support: pdf, doc, jpeg; links to video in youtube or vimeo

How to apply: send an email to waterfront.tools@gmail.com

Application submission ends on July 15, 2020 at 23: 59 Moscow time.

Открытый конкурс на арт-проекты в рамках международного проекта «Waterfront / Водная линия»

Институт исследования стрит-арта и Датский институт культуры в Санкт-Петербурге объявляют открытый конкурс на создание и реализацию арт-проектов.

Цель проекта: через художественные практики (паблик-арт) привлечь активное внимание горожан к проблеме использования набережных и развитию городских прибрежных территорий как современных общественных пространств.

Сроки открытого конкурса: 16 июня –15 июля 2020 (приём заявок заканчивается в 15.07.2020 в 23:59 МСК).

Реализация: август 2020 – июль 2021 (зависит от эпидемиологической обстановки).

Кто может подать заявку: индивидуальные авторы и/или творческие группы, работающие с разными формами художественных практик*.

География участников: Северо-западный регион РФ (Санкт-Петербург, Ленинградская, Архангельская, Мурманская области, Республика Карелия), а также приветствуется участие представителей Северных стран (Дании, Исландии, Норвегии, Финляндии и Швеции).

NB! Заявки из других регионов прислать можно при условии участия в коллективе представителей Северо-запада РФ или Северных стран.

Реализация — на одной или нескольких из локаций у воды в Санкт-Петербурге, в том числе возможно предложить онлайн-проекты с выходом в город в перспективе.

Производственный бюджет: не более 80 тысяч рублей на один проект.

Победители будут приглашены в группу ознакомительного визита проекта «Waterfront / Водная линия» в Финляндию, Швецию и Эстонию (период поездки уточняется).

Как выбирается победитель:

организаторы предполагают выбрать к реализации от трех до пяти проектов; отбор будет делать оргкомитет, состоящий из команды проекта «Waterfront / Водная линия», в который входят эксперты в области урбанистики, архитектуры, истории искусств, социологии, экологии, арт-менеджмента, консультанты по развитию общественных пространств, а также активные участники предыдущих этапов проекта.

Проекты на какие темы мы ожидаем? Для оптимизации задач мы предлагаем несколько конкретных направлений (номинаций), заявители могут выбрать одно или несколько направлений:

1. Универсальное дизайнерское решение (тиражируемое и масштабируемое), решающее конкретную задачу: обозначить место городской лодочной станции (утерянной или существующей); и места отдыха у воды. Способ информационного указателя должен быть оригинальным по идее и дизайну, заметным, опознаваемым, вандалоустойчивым и информативным.

Контекст:

Современный город вырастает из истории и его традиций, так как город — это несколько поколений жителей, которые прожили целую жизнь и помнят как ценность реалии своего времени. Причем, молодежь, как правило, ничего не знает о бытовой истории и практике жизни города в 30-х, 40-х, 50-х, 60-х, да даже в 70-х и 80-х годах. Между тем, в это советское время муниципалитет и городские службы точно так же были озадачены организацией досуга и мест отдыха для горожан, где они могли бы отдохнуть после трудовых будней среди живой природы, не выезжая далеко за черту города. Спорт и прогулки на свежем воздухе также входили в число приоритетов. Одной из возможностей приятного и полезного выходного дня в городе, стоящем на воде, естественно, были водные прогулки. Для этого на реках, каналах и озерах создавались лодочные станции с парком весельных лодок и возможностью их почасовой аренды. Эта традиция серьезно пострадала в постсоветское время. Именно поэтому возможными локациями для размещения паблик-арт объектов организаторы выбрали бывшие и ныне работающие лодочные станции. Временные объекты смогут стать новыми точками притяжения для местных жителей и российских туристов.

2. Локальная арт-интервенция «на районе» в формате «улучшайзинг», привязанная к конкретному месту и решающая конкретную проблему выбранного пространства (на усмотрение автора).

Контекст:

Современное уличное искусство озадачено не только личным самовыражением автора, но и социальными проектами анализирующими недостатки и неудобства для жителей микрорайона, разрабатывая необходимые и точные интервенции, позволяющие оперативно решить проблему или хотя бы обозначить ее и двинуться в сторону ее возможного решения с помощью местных активных жителей или инженерных районных служб. Именно это мы и называем «улучшайзингом».

3. Арт-проекты, инициирующие социальную коммуникацию, то есть вовлекающие горожан в сотрудничество и диалог друг с другом с целью «обживания» общественных пространств у воды.

Контекст:

Жители Петербурга обычно описываются как люди не особо открытые и не склонные к общению с незнакомцами. Однако, только дружное местное сообщество способно брать на себя ответственность, чтобы оперативно ставить и решать проблемы микрорайона. Для того чтобы организовать и запустить такую активность существуют различные социальные механизмы. Именно их мы и предлагаем разработать и испытать на практике.


Список возможных локаций, по которым Waterfront проводил исследования и по которым возможно получить (организаторы предоставят по запросу) обзорную аналитическую информацию:

  • река Черная речка (между Чернореченским мостом и Старобельской улицей);

  • река Ждановка (около стадиона СКА на Ждановской набережной, 2; напротив Петровского парка);

  • река Смоленка (около кладбища «Остров Декабристов», начало проспекта КИМа)

  • Приморский парк Победы

  • Южно-Приморский парк

  • Парк «Сосновка»

  • река Пряжка (конкретного места на реке нет) — есть исследование команды Waterfront

  • Набережная на Юго-Западе (так называемый Каменный пляж) — есть исследование команды Waterfront

  • Галерная гавань — есть исследование команды Waterfront

    Участники могут предложить свою локацию.

ТРЕБОВАНИЯ К ЗАЯВКАМ

Формат проекта может быть любым, способным быть воплощенным в открытом городском пространстве (на временной основе, если это объект), учитывая условия и вызовы, с которыми мы столкнулись в 2019/2020м года:

  • пандемия
  • сложность согласования стационарных арт-объектов в городской среде
  • поиск новых форм коммуникации в период изоляции

Заявка должна содержать:

  • профайл/cv заявителя
  • описание идеи/концепции
  • визуализация/эскиз (если это объект)
  • краткий сценарий (если это перформативное искусство)
  • локация (если подразумевается специфическое место в городе)
  • детализированная смета и техрайдер

Формат файлов: pdf, doc, jpeg; ссылки на видео — в youtube или vimeo

Как подать заявку: прислать письмо на адрес waterfront.tools@gmail.com
приём заявок заканчивается 15 июля 2020 в 23:59 МСК.

Мы всегда на связи! Однако перед тем, как написать нам, убедитесь, что вы прочитали ответы на самые часто задаваемые вопросы.