Cities by the Water Forum. 2018

5 october 2018

In October 2018, the second phase of the Waterfront / Waterline project began. It started with the Cities by the Water Forum, held on October 5-6 in the framework of the festival Nordic Week in St. Petersburg and organized by the Street Art Research Institute, the Danish Cultural Institute and the Consulate General of Sweden.

The various sections of the forum were attended by representatives of the administrations both of the cities of the Nordic countries and St. Petersburg, architects, developers and everyone not indifferent to the harmonious development of the urban environment.

The organizers of the forum focused on the problem common both to urbanists from Russia and the Nordic countries: how to create modern and full-fledged public spaces in the coastal areas of the cities; what should be done to make people feel cozy, comfortable and safe in these places; how to make them "that" places of leisure and meeting for different people from among local residents and tourists; how to achieve synergy "administration — citizen — business”?

Another topic of the forum — the experience of preserving wooden monuments — was discussed at the section devoted to wooden architecture in the modern urban environment, which was organized in cooperation with the Administration of St. Petersburg and the Association Northern wooden city.

The program of the two-day forum consisted of a professional section (conferences, workshops) and a section for the wider audience (lectures, presentations, workshops and performances). This made possible for everyone interested in the development of the city to participate in the forum.

Форум «Города у воды». 2018

В октябре 2018 года начался второй этап проекта «Waterfront / Водная линия». Он стартовал с форума «Города у воды», прошедшего 5-6 октября в рамках фестиваля «Недели Северных стран в Санкт-Петербурге», организованного Институтом исследования стрит-арта, Датским институтом культуры и Генеральным консульством Швеции.

В работе различных секций Форума приняли участие представители администраций городов Северных стран и Санкт-Петербурга, архитекторы, застройщики и все, кто неравнодушен к вопросам гармоничного развития городской среды.

Организаторы Форума сфокусировались на проблеме, общей для урбанистов из России и Северных стран: как создать на прибрежных территориях городов современные и полноценные общественные пространства; как сделать эти пространства такими, где люди будут чувствовать себя уютно, комфортно и безопасно; как сделать их «своим» местом досуга и встречи разных людей как из числа местных жителей так и туристов; как достичь синергии «администрация — горожанин — бизнес»?

Еще одна тема форума — опыт сохранения деревянных памятников архитектуры — обсуждалась на секции, посвященной деревянному зодчеству в условиях современной городской среды, которая была организована при взаимодействии Администрации Санкт-Петербурга и Ассоциации «Северный деревянный город».

Программа двухдневного форума состояла из профессиональной секции (конференции, практические мастерские) и секции для широкой публики (лекции, презентации, мастер-классы и перформансы). Это сделало возможным участие в форуме всех, заинтересованных в развитии города.